Portsmouth Theft Crime Attorney
Call (603) 413-3080 For Seasoned & Assertive Theft Defense
Theft crimes are among the more common types of offenses that courts handle in both New Hampshire and Massachusetts. These crimes can range from shoplifting small items from a retail store to armed robbery and home invasions.
If you have been arrested for any type of theft in Rockingham County or elsewhere in the state or in Massachusetts, it is in your best interests to retain a Portsmouth theft crime attorney who has the experience and skills to protect and defend you throughout the criminal justice process. In that regard, you can rely on our Portsmouth theft crimes lawyer at Wiberg Law Office, PLLC.
We bring decades of criminal defense experience to your case along with a drive to ensure your legal rights are upheld at every phase of your case. Our seasoned Portsmouth theft crime lawyer is well-versed in the laws, court procedures, and court strategies in both New Hampshire and Massachusetts.
As your advocate, we can review evidence to find flaws that can be advantageous to your position. We will be there for you every step of the way providing sound legal advice and exploring all options on your behalf.
What Qualifies as Felony Theft?
In New Hampshire, theft is classified as a felony depending on the amount and type of the property that was stolen.
Possible felony theft according to the value of the property or services stolen includes:
- Class B felony theft: value of property or services stolen is more than $1,000 and less than $1,500
- Class A felony theft: value of property or services is more than $1,500
Other circumstances can cause theft to become a felony offense such as having prior theft offenses, the type of property stolen, and other surrounding circumstances such as extortion or being armed with a deadly weapon at the time of the theft.
What are the Types of Theft Charges in New Hampshire?
How you are charged when taking another’s property without permission will depend on the value of the property or services and other factors. For instance, when stealing property valued above $1,500 you will likely be charged with a Class A felony.
You will also be charged with this felony if you steal a firearm or if you had a weapon (other than a gun) during the commission of the theft. In New Hampshire, the penalties for a Class A felony include fines of up to $4,000 and 15 years of incarceration.
Class B felonies are charged when the value of the property stolen ranges between $1,000 and $1,500. Penalties include up to seven years of jail time and fines of up to $4,000. Misdemeanors are generally charged when the stolen property is valued less than $1,000, punishable by up to one year in jail and fines of up to $2,000.
Under New Hampshire law, theft can occur in various ways including:
- Stealing the property of another
- Shoplifting (willful concealment)
- Theft by deception
- Theft by extortion
- Receiving or dealing in stolen property
Criminal Defense Focus With An Unmatched Depth of Knowledge
A Proven Track Record With Thousands Of Cases Handled
In-Jail Consultations & Flexible Appointment Times
Putting Three Decades of Experience Into Your Case
If you want an amazing lawyer, this is the person you go to. Sven was able to defend me and win at trial, it was a totally amazing ...- Rob L.
He not only had/has high standards, he had/has integrity. Rest assured that once he takes your case, he will represent you with ...- Therese