Portsmouth DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer
Serving Rockingham County, New Hampshire & Massachusetts
If you have been arrested for a driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated charge, Wiberg Law Office, PLLC can help. It is never wise to go through a drunk driving charge on your own. You need an experienced criminal defense attorney in your corner who can ensure that your rights are protected. That attorney should have comprehensive knowledge of the NH DWI laws or Massachusetts.
Attorney Sven Wiberg thoroughly understands the DUI and DWI laws of both states and maintains an aggressive approach to criminal defense. Our firm has helped hundreds of our clients retain their freedom and protect their drivers’ licenses. Backed by close to three decades of experience handling all types of drunk and drugged driving cases, we are here to get to work on your behalf.
DUI/DWI Charges & Consequences
You can be charged with drunk driving if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or more, or if the arresting police officer observes that your driving has been impaired to any degree (even if your BAC is less than the legal limit). Aside from alcohol impairment, any type of drug in your system that impairs your driving as measured through your blood can lead to an arrest as well. These drugs can include street drugs, prescription drugs, or over-the-counter drugs. For instance, while marijuana is legal for recreational use in Massachusetts, it is still illegal to drive while under its influence.
Under New Hampshire DUI Law, a first time DUI conviction will be punished with a Class B misdemeanor.
A Class B misdemeanor is punishable by:
- A fine up to $1,000
- Driver's license revocation for up to 9 months
- Mandatory impaired driver intervention program that must be completed within 45 days of the conviction
In New Hampshire, you will have 30 days from the date of your arrest to challenge the state’s automatic license suspension by filing for an administrative hearing. Our Portsmouth DUI/DWI defense lawyer can assist you with this to fight for your driving privileges as well as fully investigate your arrest for flaws, inconsistencies, and other factors that can work in your defense.
If you have been convicted of DWI, the judge may place you on probation which reduces jail time. Probation may be granted after five days if it is a second offense, 14 days if the offense was within the last two years, or after 30 days if it was a third DWI offense. If probation is granted, you may be required to complete an alcohol and drug evaluation as well as treatment recommended by the Impaired Driver Car Management Program (IDCMP).
Other requirements may include:
- Random testing
- Inpatient and outpatient treatment
- Alcohol and drug monitoring
Aggravated DWIs in New Hampshire
Under New Hampshire DWI law, a DWI is considered to be “aggravated” if it involves:
- A passenger under 16 years old
- Excessive speeding
- A BAC level of 0.16% or higher
- Bodily injury
- Running from the police
Aggravated DWI carries more severe penalties. It is considered to be a class A misdemeanor and the penalties can include monetary fines of $750 up to $2,000 and five days up to one year in jail. If the DWI included bodily injury, the charge may be a class B felony, making the penalties increase to monetary fines of $1,000 to $4,000 and 14 days to seven years in jail. If convicted of an aggravated DWI, your driver’s license will be suspended for 18 months up to two years. You may be able to get the suspension period reduced if you participate in the IDCMP.
Sleep medications like Ambien and Lunesta have become popular in the last few years. Unfortunately, the use of these medications has resulted in an increase in what is commonly known as “sleep driving.” The FDA defined this condition as “driving while not fully awake after ingestion of a sedative-hypnotic product, with no memory of the event.” This growing danger has caused hundreds of people to suffer DUI and DWI Ambien arrests every year. If you are facing such an arrest, it is critical that you seek experienced legal help as soon as possible.
Get Defense For Your DWI Case Today
You may think your case is hopeless, but many defense strategies exist that can work in your favor. For example, if the arresting officer didn’t follow the law and due process when pulling you over, it could possibly be used to suppress evidence or even get your case thrown out entirely. For this reason, and many others, it is crucial to have our experienced criminal defense attorney on your side. We have legal avenues and strategies that may reduce your charges or get your case dismissed altogether.
Arrested for DWI? Contact us online to discuss your defense during a free consultation.
Criminal Defense Focus With An Unmatched Depth of Knowledge
A Proven Track Record With Thousands Of Cases Handled
In-Jail Consultations & Flexible Appointment Times
Putting Three Decades of Experience Into Your Case
If you want an amazing lawyer, this is the person you go to. Sven was able to defend me and win at trial, it was a totally amazing ...- Rob L.
He not only had/has high standards, he had/has integrity. Rest assured that once he takes your case, he will represent you with ...- Therese