Portsmouth Assault & Battery Defense Lawyer
Committed Legal Experience in Rockingham County, New Hampshire & Massachusetts
Have you been accused of assault and/or battery? These are not light charges. Depending on the circumstances, you could face a lengthy imprisonment along with hefty fines and a future going forward with a permanent criminal record.
The criminal record can impact your ability to find work, obtain housing, or take advantage of other opportunities. Fighting back with the best possible defense is vital and doing that takes an experienced, knowledgeable attorney.
At Wiberg Law Office, PLLC you can turn to our Portsmouth assault and battery defense attorney who has been representing clients for close to three decades.
We fully understand the mechanics of how to deal with prosecutors, courtrooms, police investigations, and how to search and find the best possible strategies for your defense. We are well-equipped and dedicated to seeking optimum results.
If you are facing any type of assault, it is crucial that you seek our help as soon as possible so that we can begin protecting your legal rights and working to seek the most favorable outcome possible.
Assault & Battery Cases in New Hampshire
Under New Hampshire law, assault is defined as “unprivileged” physical contact with another. How you are charged in any assault case will be dictated by what you intended to do and the extent of any bodily harm inflicted on the other person.
What are the different types of Assault:
- Simple assault, generally charged as a misdemeanor
- Aggravated assault, (first- or second-degree assault) resulting in serious bodily harm or committed with the use of a deadly weapon, charged as a felony
- Domestic violence assault, in which a household member was threatened or harmed
What is Simple Assault in NH?
Simple assault in NH is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,000. It can have other consequences as well in certain circumstances, such as restraining orders, loss of child custody rights, and deportation problems for non-citizens.
First- and second-degree assault have more serious criminal penalties, ranging from three and one-half up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $4,000 along with the legal consequences of being a convicted felon.
Simple assault in New Hampshire is when a person commits assault and “purposely or knowingly” causes bodily harm or commits an offensive physical contact. “Purposely” means when a person intentionally acts to cause a particular result and “knowingly” means when a person is aware of the nature of their action. Simple assault in New Hampshire is a misdemeanor.
If you are facing charges for assault or battery, call (603) 413-3080 for dedicated legal advocacy today.
Criminal Defense Focus With An Unmatched Depth of Knowledge
A Proven Track Record With Thousands Of Cases Handled
In-Jail Consultations & Flexible Appointment Times
Putting Three Decades of Experience Into Your Case
If you want an amazing lawyer, this is the person you go to. Sven was able to defend me and win at trial, it was a totally amazing ...- Rob L.
He not only had/has high standards, he had/has integrity. Rest assured that once he takes your case, he will represent you with ...- Therese